Archi Forum

Archi Plug-ins => Other Plug-ins => Topic started by: Hervé on February 27, 2017, 21:25:37 PM

Title: database export/import plugin v2 (alpha release)
Post by: Hervé on February 27, 2017, 21:25:37 PM
Even if I'm a bit late on my initial planning ...

I'm proud to announce the alpha release of my new database plugin :
      https://github.com/archi-contribs/database-plugin/tree/master/v2 (https://github.com/archi-contribs/database-plugin/tree/master/v2)

The key differences with the v1 are :

This sharing behavior has been mainly implemented for these use cases :
   - Sharing standard components like common processes or standard infrastructure components
   - Ability to split big models into smaller parts, each of them managed by a specific person, but accessing the "big picture" in a merged model (one to rule them all)
   - ...

The release note includes :
   - Compatible with Archi 4.0 only
   - Added log4j support
   - Complete rework of the graphical interface with unified graphical chart
   - Versioning at the element level
   - Reduce the quantity of data exported by exporting only updated components (use of checksums)
   - Detect database conflicts and add a conflict resolution mechanism
   - Reduce number of database tables
   - Reduce database table names to be compliant will all database brands (especially Oracle)
   - Add back Oracle JDBC driver
   - Temporarily remove the Neo4j driver
   - Add the ability to export the whole model or the elements and relationships only (useful for graph databases)
   - Accelerate import and export processes by using multi-threading
   - Add the ability to import components from other models
   - Add inline help
   - ...

This is an alpha release and all the functionalities are not yet developed, so please be indulgent. Nevertheless, please do not hesitate to download, test it and drop me a line in case of a bug or if you'd like another functionality.

Best regards
Hervé


ps : I'm already thinking about the v3 of the plugin. JB pointed me to the direction of CDO, an Eclipse framework that would allow to transform Archi to a real collaborative application (i.e. components modified in a model will be updated in real time into the other models). Please do not hesitate to drop me a line if you believe that this would be useful in your organisation.
Title: Re: database export/import plugin v2 (alpha release)
Post by: brain_work on February 28, 2017, 06:07:57 AM
Hi Hervé,

Thanks for the new release which I'm going to test today  :D

I especially want to test the "Add the ability to import components from other models" and I'm curious about the "Add the ability to export the whole model or the elements and relationships only (useful for graph databases)".

And regarding v3/CDO: I just checked CDO briefly and it certainly is something we are interested in!

BTW I envision two slightly different usage roads for Archi: the IMHO more limited ArchiMate road (more limited because ArchiMate is a complex modelling language which is interesting only for a very small audience) and the IMHO broader concept mapping road (suited for a much broader audience, everybody can learn that in a couple of minutes) CDO seems to be a step forward on the (multi-user) concept-mapping road.
Note: I use the words limited and broader in the context of the possible number of users who can work with the models itself and who can easily understand the produced output (in the visualiser and/or the views). Perhaps one day there will be a feature which allows people to convert ArchiMate models to Concept Map models and vice versa  :P


Regards,
Peter
Title: Re: database export/import plugin v2 (alpha release)
Post by: brain_work on February 28, 2017, 07:38:10 AM
Hi Hervé,

I downloaded the plugin and SQLite and restarted Archi and created an archidb SQLite datebase. But I can't point the database plugin to that database because I got errors on(or before opening) the preferences screen of the plugin. And I don't get a screen where I can fill in the database details (as I could with the previous version of the plugin).

I'm running Archi 4 Beta 7 on Windows 7 and I've attached a pdf with some screenshots.

Regards,
Peter
Title: Re: database export/import plugin v2 (alpha release)
Post by: Hervé on February 28, 2017, 08:52:02 AM
Hi Peter,

Thanks for this quick test (even if I did not expect this kind of bug  :-[).

I'm using Archi 4.0 beta 7 version too (Windows 7 32 bit at work and Windows 10 64 bit at home). I believe it dosen't come from the JRE because it is provided with Archi ...

Could you please activate the Java console (i.e. launching archi.exe - console) and check if you've got some error messages in the console ?

Thanks and regards
Hervé
Title: Re: database export/import plugin v2 (alpha release)
Post by: brain_work on February 28, 2017, 11:03:28 AM
Hi Hervé,

I've attached the part of the error log from this morning's session with the DB plugin.

Regards,
Peter
Title: Re: database export/import plugin v2 (alpha release)
Post by: brain_work on February 28, 2017, 11:12:59 AM
Hi Hervé,

I've attached the Archi -console log form my session I just started.

Regards,
Peter
Title: Re: database export/import plugin v2 (alpha release)
Post by: Hervé on February 28, 2017, 12:11:14 PM
thanks for these files.

That's weird : java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: org.archicontribs.database.DBDatabase

One of my key class is not found ... It seems that my JAR file on GitHub is corrupted.

I updated the file on Github using the web interface. Could you please download this new file and tell me if it solves your issue ?

Thanks and regards
Hervé

Title: Re: database export/import plugin v2 (alpha release)
Post by: brain_work on February 28, 2017, 12:39:55 PM
Hi Hervé,

The new version solved my issue, now i got a normal preferences screen where I can fill in the database things. I continue testing :-)

Regards,
Peter
Title: Re: database export/import plugin v2 (alpha release)
Post by: Hervé on February 28, 2017, 12:44:10 PM
Great ...

don't know what happend and will never know  :-[
Title: Re: database export/import plugin v2 (alpha release)
Post by: brain_work on February 28, 2017, 14:21:03 PM
Hi Hervé,

First things I noticed:


Regards,
Peter
Title: Re: database export/import plugin v2 (alpha release)
Post by: Hervé on February 28, 2017, 14:35:15 PM
1 - This is normal behavior. If you export elements and relationships only, then they are not linked to any model. They can only be imported back into a model using the import component feature, accessible through the right click menu on a folder.
2 - great
3 - yes, I know  :-[
4 - I do this mistake quite often (French work instad of the English word). I'll correct it.

Thanks a lot
Hervé
Title: Re: database export/import plugin v2 (alpha release)
Post by: brain_work on February 28, 2017, 15:38:20 PM
Hi Hervé,

Regarding point 1:

I think I can only import one element at the time. I don't see things listed when I select the Composites, Folders, or Views categories But I don't use folders and views in my model. And I don't know what composites are, should that be relations?

Regards,
Peter
Title: Re: database export/import plugin v2 (alpha release)
Post by: Hervé on February 28, 2017, 19:29:13 PM
Hi Peter,

Yes, at the moment, one element at the time and the relationships to and from this element are not yet imported at the same time.

I believe folders and views should be importable in 2 or 3 weeks time.

Composites are elements that may be use as containers like grouping, locations, etc ... But the more I think about enabling the composites import, the more I think this may not be a good idea ...

Best regards
Hervé

Title: Re: database export/import plugin v2 (alpha release)
Post by: Glem on March 01, 2017, 12:45:13 PM
Hi Hervé,
in your new plugin version there is no MySql creation script  ?

Thanks & regards,
Gilles
Title: Re: database export/import plugin v2 (alpha release)
Post by: Hervé on March 01, 2017, 20:13:05 PM
Hi Gilles,

My apologies, no excuse except I've just forgotten   ::)

The MySQL script has been pushed to GitHub ...

Please remember that this is only an alpha release and that all the functionalities are not yet implemented, so please be indulgent. At the same time, all the functionalities I implemented should work, so if something is not working as you expected, please do not hesitate to drop me a line   ;D

Best regards
Hervé

Title: Re: database export/import plugin v2 (alpha release)
Post by: Glem on March 02, 2017, 08:55:58 AM
Hi Hervé,
I begin to test the plug-in Friday.
:D

Thanks & regards,
Gilles
Title: Re: database export/import plugin v2 (alpha release)
Post by: Hervé on March 19, 2017, 23:48:31 PM
Dear all,

I'm pleased to announce the alpha2 release of my database plugin version 2 : https://github.com/archi-contribs/database-plugin/tree/master/v2 (https://github.com/archi-contribs/database-plugin/tree/master/v2)

The key updates are :

Please note that I had to change a bit the datamodel (partly to increase my compatibility to MySQL). I updated the SQL scripts to create the database tables.

This release allows to share elements and relationships between models. The next release will allow to share complete folders and views between models.

Best regards
Hervé
Title: Re: database export/import plugin v2 (alpha release)
Post by: Hervé on March 21, 2017, 21:13:29 PM
Dear all,

You will find the alpha3 release of my database plugin : https://github.com/archi-contribs/database-plugin/tree/master/v2 (https://github.com/archi-contribs/database-plugin/tree/master/v2)

this release has not got new functionality but solves two bugs (including one major) :

There is no change in the database model from the previous release.

I would like to particularly thank Gilles for his testing and support, so thank you Gilles  ;)

Best regards
Hervé
Title: Re: database export/import plugin v2 (alpha release)
Post by: TT on April 27, 2017, 14:32:44 PM
I need help on entering the right servername for an MS-SQL.
Using v2 and latest beta version of Archimate - tested on mac and win.

But im getting the same error when I click 'check' as on the attached screenshot, no matter what I enter.

I have tried:

jdbc:neo4j:http://xxxx.xxx.xx and added portnumber to the next field.
jdbc:neo4j:http://xxxx.xxx.xx:1433
http://xxxx.xxx.xx

Is this an issue with the format of the URL og can it be other problems?

Title: Re: database export/import plugin v2 (alpha release)
Post by: Hervé on April 27, 2017, 15:39:10 PM
Hi,

The 'server' field must just contain the hostname or the ip address of the server hosting your database (not a jdbc connection string).

you may use localhost or 127.0.0.1 if the SQL Server database is hosted on your desktop.

Best regards
Hervé