Archi Forum

Discussion Boards => Share your Models, Templates and Reports => Topic started by: alex on October 30, 2018, 10:30:01 AM

Title: Archimate for everyday use (to describe Enterprise Architecture)
Post by: alex on October 30, 2018, 10:30:01 AM
Hello!

I just started to use ArchiMate. Everything is fine but I faced with the question:

if I create several diagrams (view points, layers) like Motivation, Business Process, Application, Technological then how to gather all it together in one single point of view (Layer) with relationships between their components ? I need to create one point of view to see everything (all layers of Enterpise Architecture) from top to bottom and vise-versa.

To do it I created another one new diagram and choosed ViewPoint - Layered. But it was empty diagram.

Am I right if I say that I should drug-and-drop components from different diagrams (views) to Layered viewpoint diagram(view) ?

Or if I'm wrong please help me to find techique which can do it instead of me...

Thank you!
Alex.

Title: Re: Archimate for everyday use (to describe Enterprise Architecture)
Post by: Phil Beauvoir on October 30, 2018, 12:53:30 PM
Hi Alex,

as you found out, creating a new diagram (View) won't automatically populate it for you. You'll need to decide what elements and relations belong in that view and drag and drop them from the Models tree into the View.

Other people may have tips for making this process quicker.

Phil
Title: Re: Archimate for everyday use (to describe Enterprise Architecture)
Post by: alex on October 31, 2018, 07:36:53 AM
Hi Phil.

Thank you for response.

I have another one question - how to attach file to diagram ? to component ? to model ? Is it possible?

Usually software specifications, tasks descriptions, presentations, BRD, FRD documents etc. are in MS Office (Word/Power Point) format.

I need to store it inside the model (inside the Archi). Is it possible ?

Second question:

I created two new models ("1" and "2") with view points ("1-1" and "2-1"). In "1-1" I created component named "Data Integration-1".

I would like to drag-n-drop component "Data Integration-1" from model "1-1" into model "2-1". But Archi can not do this.

So, my question is  - why I can not share same components between different models and viewpoints in Archi ? It's not flexible and agile -)

Alex.
Title: Re: Archimate for everyday use (to describe Enterprise Architecture)
Post by: Phil Beauvoir on October 31, 2018, 10:14:52 AM
> I have another one question - how to attach file to diagram ? to component ? to model ? Is it possible? Usually software specifications, tasks descriptions, presentations, BRD, FRD documents etc. are in MS Office (Word/Power Point) format.  I need to store it inside the model (inside the Archi). Is it possible ?


Archi saves its data as an XML file so you can't store other files (except images) "inside" the file. You can create URLS in the "Documentation" field or in a Property that link to other resources.

> why I can not share same components between different models and viewpoints in Archi ? It's not flexible and agile -)

Models are not linked. This is so that they remain discrete and portable without inter-dependencies. You can only copy diagram elements between them in Views. It is a limitation that is inherent in the "one model = one file" design.
Title: Re: Archimate for everyday use (to describe Enterprise Architecture)
Post by: alex on November 01, 2018, 13:32:31 PM
Phil, thank you -)
Title: Re: Archimate for everyday use (to describe Enterprise Architecture)
Post by: alex on November 09, 2018, 14:23:50 PM
Hi Phil.

Another one question.

I need to describe ETL process between data source and data target.

ETL process is implemented using several jobs - #1, #2, #3. Job #2 started after job #1, job #3 after job #2.

Each job has attributes like: description, server, start time, duration, data volume, table source, table target etc...

I described this ETL using Connection object which is placed between data source and data target and connected them. Then I added jobs as attributes to ETL.

But:

1. When I made report as Word file I did not see Connection object in the report. No any ETL I see. Very strange -(

2. Can I add to each jobs their own attributes ? It will be like hirerarchy - ETL has attributes like different jobs and each jobs have attributes. Is it possbile to do it in Archi ?

Or please recommend me the best practice how to decribe ETL process in Archi...

Thank you in advance,
Alex.

Title: Re: Archimate for everyday use (to describe Enterprise Architecture)
Post by: Phil Beauvoir on November 09, 2018, 14:36:29 PM
Ales, did you use an ArchiMate relationship as a connection?
Title: Re: Archimate for everyday use (to describe Enterprise Architecture)
Post by: alex on November 12, 2018, 07:48:08 AM

Phil, my answers and clarifications on the image in the attachment -)

Title: Re: Archimate for everyday use (to describe Enterprise Architecture)
Post by: Phil Beauvoir on November 12, 2018, 09:30:50 AM
Looks like you used a non-model type connection. You need to use an ArchiMate type connection for it to show in the report.

Attributes (Properties) are only at one level, so you can't have a hierarchy.
Title: Re: Archimate for everyday use (to describe Enterprise Architecture)
Post by: alex on November 12, 2018, 12:23:27 PM
Phil, thank you -)
Title: Re: Archimate for everyday use (to describe Enterprise Architecture)
Post by: alex on November 14, 2018, 07:55:25 AM

Hi Phil.

Another one question - I would like to change Type property for Archi element on my own like "Server", "ETL job" etc... Is it possible ?

For example, Node element with Type = "Node" I would like to change to Type = "Server", element Type="Path" I would like to change to Type="ETL job".

Also in all kind of reports (i.e., Jasper-Word) there should be new Types appeared: "Server", "ETL job" instead of "Node" and "Path". Is it possible ?

Thank you in advance, Alex.
Title: Re: Archimate for everyday use (to describe Enterprise Architecture)
Post by: Phil Beauvoir on November 14, 2018, 10:18:19 AM
Set the name of each element to "Server", "Path",  etc.
Title: Re: Archimate for everyday use (to describe Enterprise Architecture)
Post by: alex on November 14, 2018, 12:38:55 PM
Phil thank you but I did it every time and you can see the result in file.

additional question - is it possible to import database structure from RDBMS into Archimate ? if yes how to do it ?

Thank you, Alex.
Title: Re: Archimate for everyday use (to describe Enterprise Architecture)
Post by: Phil Beauvoir on November 14, 2018, 18:56:10 PM
You can't change the display of the underlying core type of an element, for example a "Server" is always a "Node", or put another way a Node named "Server". It sounds like you want it to be like a Stereotype, which isn't really implemented.

For importing DB that would require an importer plugin that could parse the DB structure. Otherwise you can import from CSV files, or perhaps write an import script in jArchi.
Title: Re: Archimate for everyday use (to describe Enterprise Architecture)
Post by: alex on November 15, 2018, 15:24:48 PM
Phil, thank you -)
Title: Re: Archimate for everyday use (to describe Enterprise Architecture)
Post by: alex on November 23, 2018, 11:50:28 AM
Hi Phil.

I tried to make report in Jasper Studio using archimate template files. But I got errors. See in the file.

Where should I write path to archimate jar file in Jasper Studio or it can not help me ?

May be you have links on the forum blogs where this problem was discussed ?

Please help.

Alex.
Title: Re: Archimate for everyday use (to describe Enterprise Architecture)
Post by: Phil Beauvoir on November 23, 2018, 14:26:11 PM
Hi Alex,

sorry I can't help on this one, as I've not used Jasper Studio. Perhaps someone else might know?

Phil
Title: Re: Archimate for everyday use (to describe Enterprise Architecture)
Post by: Jean-Baptiste Sarrodie on November 23, 2018, 19:34:44 PM
Hi,

You can't test your report inside JasperReport Studio. You have to save it and test it from within Archi.

This wiki page might help you a bit (and don't hesitate to contribute some updates): https://github.com/archimatetool/archi/wiki/How-to-create-your-own-report-for-Archi

Regards,

JB
Title: Re: Archimate for everyday use (to describe Enterprise Architecture)
Post by: alex on November 26, 2018, 07:03:43 AM
Hi Phil and Jean.

About reporting....For example, I want to create new report which display not only deployment model of my servers in Enterprise Architecture but total number of cores, RAM HDD/SDD, cost of each server etc. per each Information System in one list (as I see I can use Properties attribute for that and then sum up it for each server).

As I thought I can do customization in Jasper Studio but I can not establish right path to the Archi jar file.

If you say that I should use Archi for reporting then my question is - how to implement this type of customization using Archi ?

BR, Alex.
Title: Re: Archimate for everyday use (to describe Enterprise Architecture)
Post by: Phil Beauvoir on November 26, 2018, 15:46:14 PM
Alex,

I'm afraid I'm not going to be much help regarding Jasper Reports. When I initially created the Jasper Reports for Archi I wrote each jrxml file by hand and tested them from Archi using a long process of trial and error. It was not the best way to do it, for sure!

Phil
Title: Re: Archimate for everyday use (to describe Enterprise Architecture)
Post by: Jean-Baptiste Sarrodie on November 26, 2018, 19:03:28 PM
Hi,

As I thought I can do customization in Jasper Studio but I can not establish right path to the Archi jar file.

If you say that I should use Archi for reporting then my question is - how to implement this type of customization using Archi ?

It seems you've not fully read what I shared: you can (and should) use Jasper Studio to edit your report files. You don't have to configure any path to Archi jar files. You simply have to edit your report files in Jaspter Studio and then use them like any other custom report from within Archi.

Regards,

JB
Title: Re: Archimate for everyday use (to describe Enterprise Architecture)
Post by: alex on November 28, 2018, 09:19:33 AM
Phil and Jean, thank you for your response.

Jean, if you mean under edit simply changes for visualization, pictures, colors, fonts, etc -  I don't need it right now.

I really need reporting but it should do the following for example:

I have server (or node) in the model. I described my server using Proporties tab with next fields - cores, RAM, cost etc...
Imagine there are 5 servers with such Properties but different values:

Server-1 = cores=1; RAM=4Gb; cost = $1000
Server-2 = cores=5; RAM=4Gb; cost = $1200
Server-3 = cores=10; RAM=4Gb; cost = $10000
Server-4 = cores=4; RAM=4Gb; cost = $2000
Server-5 = cores=21; RAM=4Gb; cost = $21000

My report should make total report for all 5 servers where the fields should be:
cores - should be calculated and be equal 41 cores
RAM  - should be calculated and be equal 20 Gb
Cost - should be calculated and be equal $35 200

How to achieve it in Archi or Jasper ?

I need it because those servers is One IT system.
Those propeties are used to control and manage Enterprise Architecture (updates, changes, new development, how much it cost, what happend if business will change their strategic goals and how it will influence on that One IT system).

Hope its clear -)

BR, Alex.
Title: Re: Archimate for everyday use (to describe Enterprise Architecture)
Post by: Jean-Baptiste Sarrodie on November 28, 2018, 09:40:49 AM
Hi,

By edit I mean doing everything,including creating your own report from scratch.

BTW, if you only want to extract information, you can also execute some SQL query using the HTML export (which contains a "query" tab in the main windows, the one you have by default and when you clic on the model name).

Regards,

JB
Title: Re: Archimate for everyday use (to describe Enterprise Architecture)
Post by: alex on December 03, 2018, 09:53:57 AM
Hi Jean.

Thank you. Do you have some example (guidlines/code) how to implement it ?

BR, Alex.