Author Topic: New HTML report tool issue with <>  (Read 3104 times)

zakariaEIRA

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
New HTML report tool issue with <>
« on: April 16, 2015, 09:42:22 AM »
Hi,

first of all. Great HTML reporting tool. That thing is awesome and I cannot wait to see in what direction this is going? A fully online Archi would be awesome :)

Here's the issue I'm having. In my model we use special characters to denote an ArchiMate concept that has been stereotyped for usage in solution architecture (http://pubs.opengroup.org/architecture/archimate2-doc/chap09.html)

We do this by adding <<stereotype reference to architecture building block>>solution building block.
As an example.

<<Requirement>>Archiving Act.

However when exporting that with the HTML export it generates <>Archiving Act (see screenshot).

What can be done to solve that?
« Last Edit: April 16, 2015, 09:44:48 AM by zakariaEIRA »

Jean-Baptiste Sarrodie

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 658
  • Archi Evangelist and Contributor. Visionary.
    • About me...
Re: New HTML report tool issue with <>
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2015, 10:32:08 AM »
Hi,

Quote
first of all. Great HTML reporting tool.

Thank you for your encouragement ;-)

Quote
That thing is awesome and I cannot wait to see in what direction this is going? A fully online Archi would be awesome

Who knows ? We already have some ideas, one of them would be to add a kind of scripting engine based on alsql with ability to export result (CSV, XLS...)

Quote
[...]
However when exporting that with the HTML export it generates <>Archiving Act (see screenshot).
What can be done to solve that?

I can easily understand why... Element names are used without any conversion, so should not include HTML code (and <...> is seen as a tag). This is managed for documentation but not in this case. This may be feasible but I don't have time to work on it at the moment, so expect some delay to have a definitive fix. For the moment, the only workarounds would be to use HTML escape (&lt; for example) or use another character ('[...]' for example).

If you have some knowledge of HTML/CSS/JS you can easily try to fix it yourself (the "skeleton" is inside the plugins\com.archimatetool.reports_3.2.0.201503251025\templates subfolder inside Archi). Let me know if you want to investigate.

Regards,

JB
If you value and use Archi please consider making a donation! https://www.archimatetool.com/donate

moathar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: New HTML report tool issue with <>
« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2016, 14:41:09 PM »
I have had a similar issue where I had named a template as  <template>.  The html report broke in a very strange manner in that I saw only a partial model.  Very subtle one, thankfully this post helped me in fixing the issue (basically be careful in using phrases/names which may appear as tags to the html parser).