Using scripting to copy a subset of one model to a new model

Started by fanievh, July 13, 2023, 10:47:01 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

fanievh

Apologies if what I'm asking is already solved in a much simpler way.

I want to be able to select a folder containing views and possibly sub-folders with views and "copy" this to a new Archi Model. So it's not a copy of the whole source model, only a selected subset of it.  That means all the elements present on the views, all the relationships, the folders relative to the folder selected, all the views in the correct folders.  I'm not sure if there's a simple or elegant way to do this (other than round tripping from current model to CSV and back to target model with some scripts that the community has created).  If there is a way to do this easily, please ignore the rest and I would appreciate advice how to do it (and this might be a total noob question, so apologies)?

I'm considering creating a jArchi script for that.  Obviously such a script would not just have to create all the relevant concepts in the target model by iterating through the source model collections, but also need to ensure that the visual elements are recreated correctly ito bounds etc in the target model.

Is it feasible to work with 2 models concurrently in a script, one being set as the current model and having a reference to the other model and switching between them as required by the scripting logic?  It seems to be implied in the API documentation, but I might be misreading it?

From the documentation:
var myModel = model.load("path/test.archimate");
myModel.setAsCurrent();

jsimoncello

Hi,
I have done something similar, but I don't really work on two models simultaneously. I copy the whole model to a new one, then remove everything I don't want  :
var FileClass = Java.type('java.io.File');

var filePath = window.promptSaveFile({ title: "Exporter le nouveau modèle ", filterExtensions: ["*.archimate"] });