Long startup-time and eclipse-error concerning handles

Started by Jelle, September 09, 2015, 07:57:16 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jelle

Hello all,

I'm new to Archi and Archimate, and have a few technical problems with Archi.

The first problem is the time Archi needs to start up: this is most of the times at least a minute. Some 30 seconds before the popup screen with the logo is shown, and after this it takes some 30 seconds before Archi is ready to use. Even when it is the only application that runs on my pc (Windows 7).

The second problem is an eclipse-error that I encounter in the log-file of Archi. According to information I found on internet, it has something to do with the way Archi is built: it claims handles in Windows and hereby it exceeds the maximum amount of handles. Maybe this handle-problem has something to do with the long startup time.

Has anybody a clue?

Thanks,
Jelle.

Phil Beauvoir

Hi,

need more information:

your system, version, ram, etc
do you have many/large archi models open? i.e is it taking time to load them?
are you using zip version of archi or installed version? i.e. what version of java
can you compare with a different machine?

Phil
If you value and use Archi, please consider making a donation!
Ask your ArchiMate related questions to the ArchiMate Community's Discussion Board.

Jelle

Hi Phil,

thank you for reacting so fast!

After I wrote this post, I saw that there was a new version of Archi available. So I have just installed this new version of Archi and also the latest Java SE RE from Oracle. Hereby I removed all the old Archi-stuff, including the logfile.

So I think I can better close this issue for now and see what is the effect of the new software.

For your information, my configuration:
- System: HP ProDesk 600, with: intel i5-4570 3.20 GHz, 12 GB RAM, Windows 7 sp 1, 64 bits
- Java: 1.7
- Archi, during the error: 3.2.1