A database of property objects or a group of objects

Started by Azix, March 04, 2024, 14:32:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Azix

I am new to computer architecture, and I work for a company and i would like to do firewall flow rule mapping. And then thanks to the csv I will automate the creation of matrix and rules directly on the firewall.

For that I said to myself, I'm going to take node objects which will correspond to groups of objects like servers, user stations, networks or FQDNs.

For example in a Node I would have several objects:

Server1: 192.168.1.1
Server2: 192.168.2.2
www.google.com: 11.3.3.3, 88.2.2.2, 99.2.2.2

The problem is that I would like to make it like a database depending on the object type.

For example :

IPS network directory
IPS Host Directory
IPS FQDN directory

so for example the server Sevreur1 and Sevreur2 will be in the IPS Host Directory, and the www.google.com in the IPS FQDN Directory

So two solutions, either create property databases with not just name and value as for example with a directory as above,

or be able to make groups of objects and the objects are attached with different properties like the basic use of components.

could someone tell me how I can do it? Please

Azix

So, i would like to create firewall flow rules from an Archimate map. And then thanks to the Achimate csv I will automate the creation of flow matrix (like the attached excel) and the creation of rules directly on the firewall.

But I don't know how to do it because I have to create groups of objects without putting the objects in the view but only the groups which does not seem to be possible with Archimate.

Phil Beauvoir

Hi, I have to admit I don't understand what you're trying to do with Properties. There's nothing special about them, they're simply name/value pairs for each object, there's no hierarchy.

Phil
If you value and use Archi, please consider making a donation!