Discussion Boards > Archi Development

Contributing to the new Model Repository Plug-In

(1/5) > >>

JonSykes:
Hello all!

This is my first time posting here, but I wanted to introduce myself at least. I am an Enterprise Architect based out of Florida and my team has started to do our modeling exclusively using Archi. We are currently working through our workflow on collaboration and decided to take the new Model Repository Plug-In for a spin. I think it is a good foundation to make a really great collaboration tool.

So I have a few questions... I have reviewed the plug-in code and reviewed a lot of the code around Grafico as well.

* Is there a feature on the road map to implement branching/branch selection?
* I know there is a feature on the road map to handle conflicts on merges, but how have others handled conflicts on merge up to this point?
* This is more of a general (non-technical) question. How have others decided to handle future state in their models?
* Can we help contribute to development on items 1 and 2?
We have some free cycles and are experienced Java developers, so we would love to help contribute to the plug-in as it would benefit our team greatly.

Thanks for your time fellas!
Jon

Phil Beauvoir:
Hi Jon,

welcome to the forums and thanks for your offer of help.

1. Yes - but first we need a better History View to manage potentially big history lists and the branching UI. jGit has an API to handle this and it is implemented in eGit (git client in Eclipse). I tried to reverse engineer it to extrapolate extricate it from the clutches of the Eclipse SDK but failed to do so. ;-)
2. There is some conflict management already. If you are seeing specific conflict types that are not presently handled you could report them here - https://github.com/archi-contribs/archi-modelrepository-plugin/issues
3. I can't answer that as I don't know
4. Yes please - see my responses above...

Phil

JonSykes:
Awesome I would be happy to help tackle the branching feature.