QUESTION How model properly my diagram - Application Layer

Started by vladap, October 05, 2018, 16:40:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

vladap

I am quite new to the Achrimate 3.0 and I am trying to make my model in it. I put an example below. My goal is to model this stream of data where I have a Source System which is creating output files in specific format -> next Step is Pulling the data by processing component and looking for some values in connected DB -> final step is then deliver this data (pushed by processing component) to Target Systems.

Q1: What relationship is correct to Application Component and Interface? In the picture is triggering (but maybe FLOW fits better) ?

Q2: Database is joined via Access relationship ?

Q3: For my purposes it will need to hold information about DB (columns+types+notes) structure in the diagram, any tips, how to manage it in Archimate ?

Diagram Example Here:

Hervé

Hi,

Sorry for this late answer, I was not available this weekend ...

My shot answer would be it depends on what you message you wish to pass on. More precisely,

Q1: You're using a triggering relationship. So do you explicitly wish to express a trigger (the source system triggers a sFTP interface which triggers the system responsible for data processing) or do you wish to express a data flow (the source system transfers data to the system responsible for data processing with a sFTP flow) ? I personally use the flow relationship, but both are correct from an Archimate point of view.

Q2: I personally use a flow relationship to keep the same arrows from end to end as the people who I show my diagrams would not understand, but I know this is a bad reason. In fact, if you wish to model the flow of data between your application and the database then you may use a flow relationhsip, and if you with to express that your application acts on (like reads data from and write data to) your database then you may use an access relationship.