Author Topic: Replace elements  (Read 2957 times)

mdungen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Replace elements
« on: May 02, 2016, 10:50:26 AM »
Hi,

Is it possible to select and replace elements?
Would be great if you can select a number of elements to have them replaced by another, e.g. select "application interface" to replace by "application collaboration"

Thanks for the replies & help!

Michael

Jean-Baptiste Sarrodie

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 414
  • Archi Evangelist and Contributor. Visionary.
    • About me...
Re: Replace elements
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2016, 10:52:33 AM »
Hi,

No, this is not possible for the moment. You can create a GitHub issue to track this idea if you want (but don't expect it to be done anytime soon, unless it is really important for you and you have some budget ;-)

Regards,

JB
If you value and use Archi please consider making a donation! https://www.archimatetool.com/donate

Phil Beauvoir

  • Archi Master
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 922
    • Archi
Re: Replace elements
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2016, 11:01:11 AM »
As JB said it's a good idea (and one that's been asked before) but not happening any time soon. There are several reasons for this:

We're currently seeking funding/investment to move Archi forward. We're still working things out with potential partners. We also need to plan for any future version of ArchiMate and build that in as well. Because of this we're in a temporary hiatus with any significant changes to Archi (except for big fixes and maintenance releases). Once we're in a better position regarding funding and development resources this is exactly the kind of feature that we'll be considering for inclusion. Stay tuned!

Phil
If you value and use Archi please consider making a donation! https://www.archimatetool.com/donate

mdungen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Replace elements
« Reply #3 on: September 19, 2016, 10:21:57 AM »
Hi Phil,

Any news on future updates, including this topic?

Cheers,

Michael

Phil Beauvoir

  • Archi Master
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 922
    • Archi
Re: Replace elements
« Reply #4 on: September 21, 2016, 12:19:36 PM »
Archi 4 is being worked on. Replacement of elements is trickier as it involves deciding on what existing relations if any will not be legal.
If you value and use Archi please consider making a donation! https://www.archimatetool.com/donate

Jean-Baptiste Sarrodie

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 414
  • Archi Evangelist and Contributor. Visionary.
    • About me...
Re: Replace elements
« Reply #5 on: September 21, 2016, 13:47:34 PM »
Hi,

In addition to Phil's remark...

When changing element type, the fact that some existing relations are still valid doesn't mean they have the same meaning as you might convert a direct relation to a derived one.

Regards,

JB
If you value and use Archi please consider making a donation! https://www.archimatetool.com/donate

steen.jensen

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
Re: Replace elements
« Reply #6 on: November 09, 2016, 18:05:22 PM »
i use some scripting on the archimate xml file directly.
ex change all business functions to  business serrvice that have  x as  first letter in name
, problem can be that old relation is not valid for the new type, so be careful.

i also do some merge of elements with same name when merging different models, as living on the edge...

rchevallier

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Replace elements
« Reply #7 on: November 27, 2018, 17:24:17 PM »
1 easy use/implementation of the replace element function would be to allow replacement only with the same type of element. Usage is to simplify removing of duplicate element or merging 2 elements

Jean-Baptiste Sarrodie

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 414
  • Archi Evangelist and Contributor. Visionary.
    • About me...
Re: Replace elements
« Reply #8 on: November 27, 2018, 19:09:02 PM »
Hi,

FWIW, it is now possible to change the type of an element through a jArchi script. See https://github.com/archimatetool/archi-scripting-plugin/wiki/jArchi-Object#type for more information.

Regards,

JB
If you value and use Archi please consider making a donation! https://www.archimatetool.com/donate